Accidental Fast

Have you ever gotten up in the morning and thought, “today would be a great day to start a juice fast?”  Me either, until Wednesday.  I have been feeling bloated and just blah.  With vacation eating and lunch meetings, I had strayed from my low gluten and lactose diet for the past few weeks.

I have not committed to how long the fast will last.  I am taking it one juice at a time.  There was some cheating yesterday.  Rules are meant to be broken, right?  My body was asking for something with more substance than green juice.  Even with the vegan protein powder once a day, my system needed something.  The cheat started with a banana, peanut butter, and flax milk smoothie.  It was so good that I ate some cassava chips and a few spoons of Coconut Bliss chocolate ice cream.  I am feeling much better today.  Seeing the results on the morning of day 5 has inspired me to keep going, at least until the next juice. One juice at a time!  I have lost 6 pounds, so I would say bloated was an understatement.  I still feel a little puffy and am hoping that another few juices will take care of it.

20 thoughts on “Accidental Fast

  1. It’s exciting to hear about the results from your juice fast. I’m only doing a 3-day fast – one day left! So far I haven’t been as lucky as you with the weight loss. 🙂

  2. There are some great products to take while fasting, I use midol. It’s great for taking away the bloat .also sometimes bloating can be a lack of salt so a Gatorade should help get done electrolytes back in your body(G2 is 20 calories a bottle) Good luck 🙂

    • I think it is about timing it with your body and mind set. When I started juicing a few months ago, I thought no way would I ever do a fast. I think it was even in one of my first posts.

Add to the discussion:

