Knowing When to Stop

20120819-161857.jpg

This is a picture of a painting I am about half done with. I do not paint very often and do it for entertainment purposes only. There seems to always be two critical moments during the painting process (and any other creative endeavor). 1) The moment when I have to make a big decision and commit to a direction. Like one of those books I loved when I was a kid. “…if you want to go into the cave turn to page 112.” There is a 50/50 chance that cave will be your doom.
2) The second moment is deciding which brushstroke is the last. I usually keep going too long. Often, in an effort to fix moment “1”.
This photo is at stage one. I now realize that the painting looks better in black and white. Maybe that is my painting style: bad technique and use of color fixed with photoshop! 8)

p.s. Be a part of the biggest comeback in history and vote for my photo (or any of the awesome photos in the contest). //www.bucketlistpublications.com/portfolio-view/travel-photo-contest-14/

10 thoughts on “Knowing When to Stop

  1. Ah, the similarities between painting a picture and writing a story, especially the knowing what the last brush stroke should be…and what the final sentence should be. There’s a connection of uncertainty–and of joy–in all creative endeavors.
    Excellent post!

Add to the discussion:

