Booker

Leanne at Mindfulness4now was kind enough to nominate this site and Fred for the Lovely Blog Award.  Fred and I were very excited.  It is his first nomination!  The blog has already excepted this once before and Fred has been out celebrating all week, so I will not make a formal acceptance.

Jenni at newsofthetimes was kind enough to nominate me for the Booker Award.

The rules:

1. Nominate other blogs, as many as you want but 5-10 is always a good suggestion. Don’t forget to let your recipients know.

2. Post the Booker Award picture.

3. Share your top 5 books of all time

Books and the stories they contain, are like dreams to me.  I enjoy the dream but after I wake, I can only remember flashes and a general sense of what I was feeling during the dream.

The books that stand out from my childhood are: A Wrinkle in Time and the Chronicles of Narnia.  Stephen King’s Bag of Bones is in my top 5 because of the experience.  I was driving across the country and listening to the audio book.  It was when I learned to love audio books.  When I arrived at my destination,my thoughts were in his voice.  As I walked down the long, dark halls of the dormitory from a bygone era, an internal dialog was describing the layers of lead paint.  Green paint shown where layers of the more recent pink paint peeled away.  The Complete Works of Shakespeare stand on my shelf as a reminder of a college course that I thought was a drama class that ended up to be a senior English class.  We compared the original works to movies made of the famous plays.  My last book is one that I have not read yet.  It may be released in the next couple of weeks and I am looking forward to it!  The Seneca Scourge by Carrie Rubin, looks to be an exciting and entertaining medical thriller.  Click on her name for the blurb.

1. The Write Transition

2. Mindfulness4now

3.  Roxie’s Blog

4-10:  I would love to hear any of your favorite books!

12 thoughts on “Booker

  1. Here I am, signing onto WordPress on a Sunday morning, when I notice a Pingback awaiting me in my comment section. Imagine my surprise and delight to click the link and see my book on another blogger’s website! I am beyond honored. How lovely of you to do that! You have made my day, especially since it was a little blue as it looks like I’ll have to wait until mid-month for my book’s release since it didn’t come out yesterday (my publisher usually releases its titles on the first and the fifteenth of the month–I’m sure the long holiday weekend didn’t help). So thank you so much for your mention. It is MUCH appreciated.

    And thank you also for the award. I will tuck it away and put something together in the next few weeks. What better blogger award than one where we get to talk about the books we love?

    It’s hard to list my favorites–so many have crossed my path–but if I had to choose one that had the greatest effect on me, it would be “A Fine Balance” by Rohinton Mistry. Set in India, it is a beautifully written piece, both tragic and uplifting. Such talent that writer has.

    Thank you again for a beautiful Sunday morning surprise. 🙂

  2. Congrats!!!! Also, I love A Wrinkle in Time!!! Ah, man…having such wonderful memories of having that read to me in elementary school.

  3. Pingback: Freshly Pressed A Second Time? « The Write Transition

  4. Pingback: How Well Do You Know Me? | The Write Transition

  5. Pingback: Hey! I Won Some Awards! Cool! « Awkwardly Alive and Pleasantly Peculiar

Add to the discussion:

