Teaching

My blogging friends, I need some advice.

My first intern starts Monday.  I barely remember my first day of internship, but I may be more worried about teaching.  How do teachers do this?!

It seems to be a tremendous responsibility.  Passing along knowledge to the next generation is a practice dating back to the beginning of time, a part of the circle of life.  Sharing our knowledge is advancing all of humanity.  Learn and grow-not just within ourselves, but also inter-generationally.  Okay, so maybe I am over thinking this a bit.

The education has to be appropriate to the intern’s level of knowledge.  It cannot be too basic.  It cannot be too advanced.  It should inspire a thirst for more knowledge.  It should prepare the intern for future course work and internships.  It cannot compromise the quality of service of the business.

I think I need to go start a list.

Any thoughts? tips? tricks?

40 thoughts on “Teaching

  1. Teaching is REALLY hard. I taught Kindergarten though where the babies were so eager to learn and its easy to make fun. I guess the biggest thing is you REALLY have to know the ins and outs of the students. What their interests are, what learning style is best for them, what their background is. All of that helps you apply the information in a way that will best suite them!

  2. I admire teachers…my daughter is a high school teacher. She focuses on creative ways of teaching and challenging her stuents in ways to help them to meet their potentials. For instance, she says she likes to do roll play.

  3. Katie, just like you treat the body in front of you, not the one that’s in the text book, you teach – share knowledge with – the student in front of you. Discover a little about what your intern knows, is interested in, came from, hopes to go to, and then share accordingly. You’ll do great! xoxoM

  4. Having never been a teacher I have made up these rules of teaching for you:
    1) If they fall asleep. Your hypnotic charm is working and you will have 40 minutes of peace
    2) If they suddenly leave the room. You know the school bell has rung
    3) If they throw things at you. You know you have touched a nerve, never to be repeated.
    4) If they laugh. You know your knicker elastic has broken and they are down around your ankles.
    5) If they cry. You know it is the first lesson of the day.
    6) If they talk amongst themselves. You know it is time to call in the SWAT team.
    Have fun. Ralph x

  5. Katie, just going from thoughts about my favorite teachers – they were always the ones who made me feel good about myself. And just going from your blogging skills – I think you will be great at teaching!

  6. making a list is a great idea, but don’t forget to be yourself, and let him/her interact with you and the students on an individual basis. Every day and every student plus intern is unique, live in the moment and enjoy!
    namaste 🙂

  7. During my student teaching, an experienced and very wise teacher shared this advice: Students don’t need a buddy; they need a really good teacher. Your job isn’t to make them feel good about themselves. Teach them competence and they’ll develop their own confidence, and you will have succeeded.

    • It is awkward to be “in charge” of a student’s learning knowing that in a year or so, they will be a colleague. But I have to remember that he is there to learn first.

  8. How are things going with your intern?

    I taught financial journalism in grad school – a scary subject to many. I started some classes by asking them to answer a question about the subject, like how do mortgages work? They would search their heads and come up with their ideas, but in the process realize how little they knew. Then I would start to tell them how mortgages worked. This seemed to be pretty effective.

    Tony

Add to the discussion:

