Mowing the River in Lightroom

As my new favorite form of exercise is paddleboarding, I took Lil’ Red out to the river on my day off.  The water level was really low through already shallow areas.  Between that and the water acting like a mirror, I was really nervous about running into trees that have fallen into the river.  I was concentrating so much on where I was going that many pictures were less than focused.  I almost ran over a turtle.  The poor little guy couldn’t dive to get away because of the water level and I did not see him until I was almost on top of him.  I had my first otter siting but by the time I decided it was safe to try and get a photo, he became shy.

A few months ago I took my first photography lesson.  During the lesson she suggested that I start using Lightroom to edit.  It took awhile, but these are my first LR4 edits.  It is a neat little program and look forward to playing with it more.

13 thoughts on “Mowing the River in Lightroom

  1. These are lovely, Katie. I especially like the one that seems to be of the sky through the tree branches, until you notice the water’s ripples in the upper left corner. Beautiful! xoxoM

  2. LOL — I’m kind of envious of the fact it’s warm enough to go out on a river at this time of year! but…. watching out for alligators? Oh my!

    Beautiful photos. glad I dropped by 🙂

Add to the discussion:

