Day Trip: Manatees and Mediums II

Cassadaga

A while back the universe had to yell at me to pay attention.  Since that time I had been playing with the idea of visiting a place in Florida that is home to many mediums and spiritual healers.  The boat tour I took in the morning was close to the camp, so I thought that I should take advantage of the geography, and stop by.

Established as a Spiritualist community in 1894, the Southern Cassadaga Spiritualist Camp Meeting Association™ consists of approximately 57 acres with 55 residences. Those who reside here have chosen to share in a community of like-minded people where they can live, worship and work in harmony with their beliefs. About 25 of the Camp’s residents are mediums who offer counseling from their homes.

I stopped at the bookstore first.  That is where you can find books on a wide range of topics, oils, stones, and some hand crafted goods.  I did get a Selenite wand.  It is purported to have healing qualities and it is the perfect shape to roll out sore muscles or press into a trigger point.Selenite Wand

They have a board up in to corner of the store that has a list of mediums and healers that are available that day.  You are also encourage to take a card and call anyone that is not on the board to set an appointment.  I was hesitant to call anyone because I did not have any questions or issues that I wanted to ask about.  I did end up calling someone because I wanted to see what it was all about.  The medium lived about 500 feet from the store, so I walked down and he was waiting for me on his porch.

He lead me into a quiet room in the house and we sat across from each other.  He explained what he did and a little bit about how he came to be there and do what he does.  After introductions, he opened the session with a prayer.  No messages or anything came across.  We talked for about an hour about various things and healing methods.  He did a spiritual healing for me after we were done.

I am glad I went.  No great answers to the universe or anything.  I do plan on restarting  meditation.

19 thoughts on “Day Trip: Manatees and Mediums II

  1. I have been to Spiritualists a few times over the years and they had always got it wrong as far as their readings went. So I have never been since. Oh. I promise not to haunt you if I keel over as I am doing enough of that now Katie. 😉 xox

  2. A friend brought her medium friend over and she ended up doing a reading and I have to say it was very nice. Her reading was spot on and said things that only I knew. I felt very good afterwards. I have experienced things that I could not explain, so my mind is now open to anything and everything! It never hurts to open your mind to different ways even if you don’t adopt them for your own.
    Thanks for sharing this!

    • Cool experience! I was as much curious if nothing else. Reading some of the others that were making calls from the board, I hope they found some answers.

  3. I’ve never done anything like that, and my pragmatic self probably never will, but I enjoy reading about the topic and learning about other people’s experiences. Guess that makes me a spiritualist voyeur…

  4. Hey Katie

    It’s fantastic to hear you intend to restart meditation!

    I hope you enjoy, and it goes well. If you ever have any questions, let me know!

    Namaste.

    James

  5. The month before I left for college, two h.s. girlfriends took me for a spiritual reading. The woman took my hand, looked into my eyes, and eventually told me I need to learn from wise and caring women who were mothers to sons because I would have five sons.
    Ten years later I had my only child, a daughter.
    Still, I wouldn’t say the reading was wasted; I always took the lesson to mean I should learn from wise women, and I have.

Add to the discussion:

