Adrenal Fatigue

My New Workout. (Linked to Amazon)

The test results reported on the last post could lead to a label of adrenal fatigue.  Adrenal fatigue is an unrecognized medical diagnosis.  From the reading I have done so far, it seems the only acceptable adrenal diagnosis is adrenal insufficiency or Addison’s Disease.  Two of the hallmark symptoms of Addison’s are weight loss and hyper-pigmentation.  I have weight gain and hypo-pigmentation.  What I do have is fatigue and low blood pressure.

(UPDATE – ONE YEAR LATER)

My Adrenal Fatigue Symptoms

Not feeling refreshed after ample sleep

Feeling tired most of the day with more energy after 6pm

Salt and sugar cravings

Varicose veins

Feeling dizzy when standing up

Difficulty recovering after stress or heavy workouts (may take days)

Causes of Adrenal Fatigue

Stress

Stress can be from life events such as divorce, death of a loved one, or work.  Stress can also be placed on the body from injuries, food allergies/sensitivities, and illnesses.

Two of the areas that are on top of my suspect list are food sensitivities and Lyme Disease.

Food Sensitivity

The reason food sensitivities made the list is because of my low cholesterol level (133).  Even with a mostly healthy diet, this may indicate poor absorption of nutrients in the gut.  The investigation of this has been put on hold until the following has been dealt with.

Lyme Disease

This headed straight to the top of the list because of one of my test results.  My CD 57 was 22.  Depending on who you listen to, the range should be between 100-300 or between 60-300.  Lyme will certainly get its own post in the near future.

Exercise and Adrenal Fatigue

It was strongly suggested that I stop stand up paddleboarding for awhile.  The doctor explained it:  you are operating with a 1/4 tank of gas.  Any heavy aerobic workouts will use up the tank and leave you nothing for normal daily activities.  That is why it can take days to recover from one workout.  He suggested activities like Yoga, Qigong, and Tai Chi.  He also mentioned that using a rebounder can be good for lymph function.

So, for now, I bounce away on the rebounder for a few minutes at a time and have started to learn Qigong.  Both feel pretty good and do not require a long recovery period.

Website Resources

Adrenal Fatigue

Adrenal Fatigue

Rebounders

Rebounder Exercises

9 thoughts on “Adrenal Fatigue

  1. I have a feeling this is what my husband suffered with for years. I wish I knew about this maybe his last few years could have been more energetic and happier for him. He was a trooper though and was still active in spite of his uncontrollable fatigue.

    • That is good that he was able to push through and keep up activities. I do wonder how many people could be or could have been helped by investigating adrenal hormone levels.

  2. I am so sorry to read about your adrenal levels Katie. If there is anything I can do my dear friend. Go to Nepal for your salt or find a place for L’il Red in an old paddleboard’s home. Anything !!
    Ralph xox 😀

  3. Pingback: Adrenal Fatigue – One year later | Real Woman's Health

  4. I can empathise with your problem – or at least some of the symptoms you exhibit – they are similar to those in the gradual demise of my son towards collapse in hospital before his symptoms were correctly diagnosed as Addisons. The speed of his recovery was quite remarkable once he was put on the appropriate drip. I would certainly recommend early checks with the doc if someone suspects problems in this area – my lad had to rescued from a ski slope when he went on a snowboarding holiday because everybody thought ‘the break would do him good!’
    (He’s ‘fine’ now – subject to a life of steroids.)

    • Thanks for sharing your story! Addison’s is not an easy road but sounds like they figured it out in time. Glad he is managing well. 8)
      When they started talking adrenals to me, I told them I did not want to find out I had Addisons in a crisis in the ER.

Add to the discussion:

