The Sweetest Thing

One of my neighbors was putting up Christmas lights this evening.  As I made my way to the mailbox, I complimented her on how pretty they were. She smiled and told me thank you. 

She then grew the biggest smile and sweetly wished me a happy Chanukah. 

Now, I am not certain why this neighbor of several years thinks that I am Jewish. Perhaps it is because I used to decorate my bushes with blue lights and had a white lit tree. Just always thought it was pretty.  Perhaps she overheard me telling someone about a DNA test that said I am 12% Ashkenazi. 

At any rate, her being so considerate and sending her warm thoughts across the yard was the biggest highlight of my day. 

I smiled back and said thank you. 

              Happy Hanukkah 

13 thoughts on “The Sweetest Thing

  1. Happy Hanukkah Katie 😀
    Snap ! Amazingly I am 12.5% Scottish as one of my grandmothers was from Stirling, Scotland. I bet I could play 12.5% of a bagpipe if I had one 😉 ❤

  2. Given my last name, people in the past have thought I was Jewish. But neither my husband nor I am. It usually came up in a new job around the holidays. They assumed I’d be fine working Christmas. They were disappointed to learn I was yet another person to add to the Christmas rotation schedule. 🙂 Ah, the healthcare field. No such thing as having holidays off, at least not every year!

    • I tend to go with happy holidays if I don’t know, but now I am concerned that someone will think I am part of “the war on Christmas.” I probably just read too much social media.

Add to the discussion:

