Juicey Friday Recap

This was a week of smoothies and juice…

The Epic Fail:

Someone planted the idea of a chocolate PB2 (powdered peanut butter-no oil) in my head. I went to make it and decided to put in some of my previous green juice because it was getting too old to last. WRONG move! I doubled everything and added honey to make it bearable. Leftovers anyone?
No recipe for this. It’s in your best interest.

Sweet Redemption:

After the disaster smoothie, I needed a comeback. This was it!
For my best yet smoothie:
1 cup almond milk
1 banana
1 pack Garden of Life chocolate protein mix
300 calories (most from the banana)

Juice for Two Days:

After the smoothie success, I made up a juice to take to work. This made at least 2 big cups, so I can have some left at home. The best guess for calories per cup is 300. The app has some good juice recipes and general guesses, but I tried plugging in each ingredient. Because of all the pulp, I would think that 300 is too high.

The mix: 4 leaves of kale, 2 leaves of rainbow chard, parsley, garlic, pear, 2 apples, 4 carrots, 1/2 beet, 1 tomato, and 1 lemon
Threw on some chia seeds in the cup I’m taking.

Peanut Butter Smoothie:

PB2 is a great way to add peanut butter to a smoothie without adding the oil. I started with a handful of ice for some thickness, then added:
1 cup almond milk
1 packet of protein mix
2 tbsp PB2

165 calories
Soooo good! 8)

I did just see a site that was discussing how PB2 is not organic and there may be some concerns for using it.

Berry Protein Smoothie:

Today was a berry day. With the apple I was having with it, I did not finish drinking the smoothie, but it was good.
1 cup almond milk
1 package mix frzn berries
1 serving acai berry juice
1/2 scoop Pure Green Natural Protein
300 calories

Cocoa and Raw Super Green

 This one had some green powdered flavor, but cocoa was the hero.
1 scoop Garden of Life Super Green powder
1/4 cup cocoa
1 1/4 cup almond milk
1 tbsp honey
Poured over ice.
178 caloriesIt seemed to want cinnamon, so I put that on the apple. A great pairing.

10 thoughts on “Juicey Friday Recap

  1. You’re sure giving that blender a workout, Katie! I haven’t brought my juicer out yet, but we are incorporating more fruit snacks into our day (baby steps). And I hadn’t heard of PB2 – will look into it. Also, I haven’t forgotten the EO research! 😉 xoxoM

    • One step at a time. 8)
      Once I found out I could put chocolate stuff in it, the blender did not stand a chance of collecting dust! Now, if they would only invent chocolate kale.

Add to the discussion:

