Fired By Shakespeare

Something is rotten in the state of Denmark…but heaven will direct it.

That is my Shakespeare mash-up for the week.  Shakespeare seemed to enjoy connecting the health of kings with the health of their kingdoms.  Towards the end of last year this seemed to be playing out at my job.  The worse I felt, the worse my clinic was doing.  As I started to feel better, work seemed to pick up.  But, alas, it was but a short reprieve.  My position had shifted from a clinical focus to a more managerial and marketing focus.  As marketing is my Achilles heel, I sat across from my boss last Friday and had “the talk”:

Let’s Just be Friends

I still like the company, they still like me…they just needed someone with a different skill set to make the business work.

..And with that, I bid adieu and started my vacation.  This will be a nice break to rest, recover, and build my strength and endurance back up.

I already miss my clients and wonder how they are doing.  I trust my colleagues are taking good care of them, but I am still unwrapping my brain from the vestment of their care.

Now, I am chillaxing and beginning to consider which door to open next.   This is going to be interesting.  Maybe I will open a paddleboard company with Lil’ Red.

A bit of a chuckle yesterday when I saw this on a form.  I felt mysterious as no one could define me by my listed job.

A bit of a chuckle yesterday when I saw this on a form. I felt mysterious as no one could define me by my listed job.

“It is not in the stars to hold our destiny but in ourselves.”

“There is nothing either good or bad, but thinking makes it so.”

“We know what we are, but not what we may be.”

Shakespeare quotes
Mabillard, Amanda. Shakespeare Quick Quotes: Something is rotten in the state of Denmark..Shakespeare Online. 20 Aug. 2010. < http://www.shakespeare-online.com//quickquotes/quickquotehamletdenmark.html >.

http://www.goodreads.com/author/quotes/947.William_Shakespeare

19 thoughts on “Fired By Shakespeare

  1. This was indeed a very adult separation. I applaud that you accepted the decision and embraced your new future. I am sure it’s painful and you are still processing. I wish you the best.

  2. It is both scary and exciting to leave a place of employment. The shake-up of our routine can paralyze us or energize us. Hopefully it will be the latter. Good luck on your next life chapter!

  3. Right young lady, you now have the opportunity to chill out, get healed, do those things that you never had time to do before. With your skills ( not that I have a clue what they are 😉 ) something work-while will drop into place. Happy blanket submerging. Ralph xox 😀

Add to the discussion:

